The Small Things

17 Apr

Everyone claims to appreciate the small things in life.  But what are the small things?  I believed that I too was an appreciator of “small things.”  Yet, to my surprise I realized that what I considered “small things” were in actuality not that small.  This realization came on an evening a few weeks ago.  I was having an “off day” and Connor suggested we each write a list of little things that make us happy.  I agreed.  We both began our lists.  Mine was a bulleted list of things I appreciated, things I believed to be small.  This list contained a span of random items from the sound of raindrops on a roof to Greek food.  I thought I was accomplishing what I had set out to do.  I was wrong.  When I read my list aloud to Connor I felt pleased with it.  I felt that I truly understood the activity, and my mood was already benefiting from it.  It was not until I heard his list that I realized I was wrong.  First, his was written less like a list and more like a sentence.  It looked like a delicate stream of words, perfectly encapsulating the spirit of the activity.  His small lettering and haphazardly scrawled words looked perfect to me.  Compared to my large lettering and bulleted list, his was far superior.  The beautiful thing about it was that it wasn’t a list at all, it was more of a stream of thought laid down on paper.  But the most appealing thing about his list was the content.  Everything listed was truly something small, even minute.  His list contained things like the veins in leaves.  Needless to say, it did not contain any type of food.  I felt as if I had failed.  His observations were so exquisite and mine were so… lame.  I couldn’t help thinking how much more splendid his mind was than mine.  The fact that the smallest details about life, details that most people rarely think about or notice, made him happy was admirable.  I wanted to be more like him.  His list showed me what the little things in life truly are.  Not Greek food, or a good glass of wine, but the smallest details overlooked by most, but not by him.

The next day, the little thing I appreciated was the silence of a usually busy street.  So rare and so wonderfully enchanting.

Leave a Reply

